King Von Autopsy: Report, Cause of Death & Verified Facts

The King Von autopsy was performed by the Office of the Fulton County Medical Examiner on Friday, 6 November 2020, the same day the rapper King Von died in Atlanta. King Von, legal name Dayvon D. Bennett, was 26 years old. The official cause of death was gunshot wounds to the torso and thighs. The manner of death was ruled homicide. The case is recorded as FCME case number 2020-2344. That is the entire officially published record. It does not include a shot count, wound trajectories, organ damage, or toxicology results. Everything beyond those four facts — the numbers, the head-wound claims, the organ lists circulating online — comes from somewhere other than the Fulton County Medical Examiner.

This page separates the two. It covers what the King Von autopsy report confirms, what the Atlanta shooting record shows, why the murder charge against Timothy Leeks was dropped, what the leaked photographs actually were, King Von’s sister Kayla B.’s response and how the 2026 Lil Durk trial has put the case back in front of a federal jury.

Non-graphic content notice: This article discusses a fatal shooting, an autopsy, and the circulation of post-mortem photographs. It does not display or link directly to graphic images.

King Von Autopsy Key Facts

Autopsy detailVerified Information
Legal nameDayvon D. Bennett
Professional Name King Von
Date of injury & deathNovember 6, 2020
Age at death26
Autopsy DateFriday, 6 November 2020
Report release date9 November 2020
Medical examiner case number2020-2344
Official cause of deathGunshot wounds of the torso and thighs
Official manner of deathHomicide
Exact number of shotsNot disclosed in the public statement
Published toxicology resultsNot included in the public statement
Examining authorityFulton County Medical Examiner

The dates, case number, age, cause and manner of death are taken from the Fulton County Medical Examiner’s official press report.

Fulton County Medical Examiner’s official press report

Source: The dates, case number, age, cause and manner of death are taken from the Fulton County Medical Examiner’s official press report.

Who Was King Von?

Dayvon Daquan Bennett (August 9, 1994 – November 6, 2020), known professionally as King Von. He was an American rapper and street gangster from Chicago, Illinois. He was raised mostly by his mother in the Parkway Gardens Homes on Chicago’s South Side, the complex known in his music as O’Block. He recorded under Only the Family (OTF), the label founded by Lil Durk, in partnership with EMPIRE.

His recording career ran from 2018 to 2020. He was known for narrative-driven drill tracks including “Crazy Story” and “Took Her to the O.” His debut studio album, Welcome to O’Block, was released on 30 October 2020 — seven days before he was killed. He had three children.

What Did the King Von Autopsy Report Confirm?

The King Von autopsy report, issued by the Fulton County Medical Examiner and released publicly on 9 November 2020, confirms four findings:

  1. Cause of death: gunshot wounds of the torso and thighs
  2. Manner of death: homicide
  3. Date of injury and date of death: both 6 November 2020
  4. Case number: 2020-2344

The document is a press summary, not the complete forensic file. It is roughly a dozen lines long. Fulton County publishes summaries of this kind for cases attracting public interest and handles requests for finalised reports through a separate open-records process.

King Von Autopsy Results: What Was Not Released

The published King Von autopsy results do not include:

  • The number of gunshot wounds
  • Which thigh was struck
  • Entry versus exit wound identification
  • Projectile trajectory or direction
  • Any named internal organ
  • Any degree-of-injury assessment per wound
  • Toxicology screening results
  • Height, weight, or other physical measurements

Any page presenting these as “autopsy details” is presenting something other than the Fulton County record.

When and Where Was the King Von Autopsy Performed?

The Office of the Fulton County Medical Examiner performed the examination on Friday, November 6, 2020. The case was recorded as FCME case number 2020-2344.

Although King Von was closely associated with Chicago, the fatal incident occurred in Atlanta. Fulton County therefore handled the post-mortem examination rather than the Cook County Medical Examiner in Illinois. The shooting took place near the Monaco Hookah Lounge on Trinity Avenue in Atlanta.

Why Does “Homicide” Not Automatically Mean a Murder Conviction?

In medical examiner terminology, homicide means death caused by the actions of another person. It is a medical classification, not a legal one. It does not determine whether a killing was criminal, whether self-defence applied, or who was responsible.

Criminal liability is decided separately, through investigation, charging decisions, evidence, and a court. The homicide finding in King Von’s record and the outcome of the criminal case are two different things — as the case history below shows.

Where Did King Von Get Shot on His Body?

The official record identifies that King Von was shot in the torso and thighs. The torso generally refers to the central part of the body, which includes the chest, abdomen, and back. However, the report does not say which particular part of the torso was struck or which structures were affected.

It also does not state:

  • Which thigh was injured
  • How many separate wounds involved each region
  • Whether particular wounds were entry or exit sites
  • The direction of any projectile
  • The severity of each individual injury

These details cannot be determined reliably from the wording of the press report alone.

How Many Times Was King Von Shot?

While internet rumors frequently claim King Von was shot exactly six times, the official medical examiner’s report does not disclose the precise number of bullet wounds. The plural term “wounds” indicates multiple injuries, but it does not establish the number of bullets. A photograph may also show only part of the body, may include both entry and exit sites, or may include marks created by medical treatment or the autopsy. Visual counting is therefore not a reliable substitute for the complete forensic record.

The GBI’s statement that six people were shot refers to the total number of people injured during the wider incident. It does not state how many bullets struck King Von.

Was King Von Shot in the Head?

The public report does not identify a gunshot wound to King Von’s head. It names the torso and thighs as the documented wound regions. Because the document is a summary, its wording cannot be used to catalogue every mark or non-fatal injury that may have been present. It does, however, mean that online claims about a fatal head or eye wound are not supported by the official public statement.

Did the Report Identify Damaged Internal Organs?

No organ-specific findings appear in the published summary. Online pages sometimes name the liver, lungs, intestines, or other organs, but those details are not confirmed by the Fulton County document available to the public. General knowledge about what an autopsy examines cannot be used to infer King Von’s individual internal findings.

What Did King Von’s Toxicology Report Show?

No King Von toxicology results are published in the short medical examiner statement. Fulton County explains that an autopsy typically includes toxicological testing that screens bodily fluids for drugs, chemicals, and toxic substances. This describes standard practice; it does not reveal the findings in King Von’s individual case.

What Happened During the Atlanta Shooting?

The altercation began between King Von’s group and an entourage connected to fellow rapper Quando Rondo (Tyquian Bowman) outside the Monaco Hookah Lounge in downtown Atlanta at around 3 a.m. When gunfire broke out, one on-duty and one off-duty Atlanta police officer working security also fired their weapons. The Georgia Bureau of Investigation opened a separate use-of-force review of the officers’ actions, while the Atlanta Police Department investigated the shootings themselves as homicides. Two people were killed that night: King Von (Dayvon Bennett) and 34-year-old Mark Blakely, also of Chicago. The GBI’s public release does not attribute either death to a specific shooter.

Did Police Shoot King Von?

The Georgia Bureau of Investigation confirmed that Atlanta police officers fired their weapons during the incident and opened a separate use-of-force review. The homicides were investigated by the Atlanta Police Department as a distinct matter.

No official finding attributes King Von’s fatal injuries to police gunfire. The fact that officers discharged weapons during the wider encounter does not, on its own, establish who fired the rounds that killed him. This claim circulated after the charges against Timothy Leeks were dropped, including in a since-deleted post by King Von’s former partner Asian Doll, but it has never been confirmed by any investigating agency.

Who Was Charged in Connection With King Von’s Death?

Timothy Leeks — widely known by his stage name Lul Tim (also spelled Lul Timm) was the man initially charged with murder in King Von’s death. In August 2023, Fulton County prosecutors dropped that charge. Multiple outlets, including Complex and HOT 97, reported that the dismissal followed Leeks’s legal team invoking Georgia’s stand-your-ground law, which allows deadly force without a duty to retreat if a person reasonably believes it is necessary to prevent death or serious injury. His legal defense successfully argued Georgia’s “stand-your-ground” law, as Leeks used deadly force to defend rapper Quando Rondo during the physical altercation with Von. Because the charges were dismissed, the case did not result in a conviction, and no other individuals face active charges for King Von’s death.

King Von Autopsy Photo Leak: What Is Confirmed?

Photographs of King Von’s body circulated online within days of his death. On 10 November 2020, the Fulton County Medical Examiner’s Office acknowledged that images had reached online outlets and published the conclusion of its internal investigation: the photographs were taken after his body had left the office’s custody.

That finding matters more than it first appears. The images are almost universally labelled “King Von autopsy photos.” The label is inaccurate. Fulton County’s own conclusion is that they were not taken by the forensic pathologist, not taken during the examination, and not taken inside the medical examiner’s facility.

Were the King Von Autopsy Photos Real?

Fulton County’s statement confirms that king von autopsy photos had been released online. It therefore supports the existence of genuine unauthorized photographs.

It does not authenticate every image now appearing under King Von’s name. Search results and social-media reposts may include:

  • Cropped versions
  • Altered copies
  • Fabricated thumbnails
  • Funeral images
  • Unrelated mortuary photographs
  • Images presented without their original context

The official acknowledgment should not be extended to every file currently labelled as a King Von death or autopsy picture.

Autopsy Photo, Mortuary Photo, Funeral Photo — the Difference

These terms are used interchangeably online. They describe different things.

Forensic autopsy photograph — created as part of the medical examiner’s official documentation, recording identity, injuries, medical intervention, or examination findings. Held as part of the case file.

Post-autopsy or mortuary photograph — taken after the forensic examination has ended, often once the body has been transferred to a funeral home. Fulton County’s custody finding places the King Von images in this category, not the first one.

Funeral or viewing photograph — taken after preparation for a memorial service or burial. Documents the funeral, not the autopsy.

A photograph showing a post-mortem incision does not, by itself, establish who took it, where, or whether it formed part of any official record.

Who Was Accused of Leaking the Photograph?

King Von’s sister, Kayla B., publicly accused a person associated with a mortuary and called for that employee to be fired. News reporting documented her allegation and demand for accountability.

Her statement is relevant to the leak controversy, but it was not presented as a conclusion reached by Fulton County, law enforcement or a court. No official source reviewed for this article conclusively identifies the original photographer or uploader.

Did Fulton County Leak the King Von Autopsy Picture?

Fulton County did not conclude that the photographs were taken while King Von’s body remained in its custody. Its published statement reached the opposite conclusion: the pictures were made after the body had been released.

The statement does not identify the later location or the person responsible for distributing the images.

How Did King Von’s Sister Respond?

Kayla B. condemned the circulation of the photograph, identified the person she believed was responsible, and demanded employment consequences. Her response became a central part of public reporting about the King Von autopsy photo leak.

The reaction also highlighted broader concerns about family privacy, professional responsibility and the dignity of deceased people whose images are distributed online without consent.

Why Was There a Y-Shaped Autopsy Incision?

A Y-shaped incision is a standard technique used in many internal autopsies. It extends across the upper chest and down the abdomen, allowing the forensic pathologist to access the chest and abdominal cavities and examine the internal organs.

After the internal examination is completed, the incision is closed. Fulton County describes an autopsy as a careful medical examination in which surgical techniques are used to examine organs and collect tissue or fluid samples where required.

The presence of a Y-shaped incision is therefore consistent with a conventional autopsy procedure. It is not evidence of an additional assault or a separate fatal wound.

Did King Von Have an Open-Casket Funeral?

Yes, King Von had an open-casket funeral. He was laid to rest on November 14, 2020, at Burr Oak Cemetery in Alsip, Illinois, following a private service in the Chicago area. The viewing was attended by his immediate family, close friends, and Only the Family collaborators, including Lil Durk.

Confirmed Facts Vs Unverified Claims

ClaimEvidence StatusExplanation
The exact number of bullets that struck King Von is publicly knownNot disclosedThe public medical examiner statement does not give an exact count.
King Von suffered a fatal head or eye woundNot establishedThe published report does not identify a head wound.
Specific internal organs were named in the public reportNot disclosedNo organ-specific findings appear in the short statement.
Specific drugs and concentrations were officially publishedNot establishedPublic toxicology results are not included in the available statement.
Fulton County took or released the circulated picturesContradicted by the official statementThe office concluded that the photographs were taken after the body left its custody.
A named mortuary employee was conclusively proven to be the leakerAlleged but unprovenKayla B. made a public accusation, but no cited official finding identifies the original source.
Timothy Leeks was convicted of King Von’s murderFalse based on the available legal recordThe charge was dismissed before indictment, and no murder conviction resulted.
King Von definitely had an open-casket funeralConfirmedHe was laid to rest with a private open-casket viewing on November 14, 2020, in Chicago, attended by his immediate family and close friends.

Is the King Von case connected to the 2026 Lil Durk trial?

Yes, the 2020 killing of rapper King Von is the core motive and direct foundation of the Lil Durk Murder-for-Hire Trial. In Lil Durk’s ongoing murder-for-hire trial, federal prosecutors have introduced text messages and witness testimonies demonstrating that Durk actively planned violent retaliation following King Von’s 2020 death. While the proceedings heavily revisit the circumstances surrounding King Von’s murder to establish a motive, the trial itself focuses strictly on separate federal conspiracy charges brought against Durk and his co-defendants.

Timeline of King Von’s Death, Autopsy and Photo Controversy

6 November 2020, ~3 a.m.

Altercation outside the Monaco Hookah Lounge, downtown Atlanta, escalates into gunfire. Police working security also discharge weapons.

6 November 2020

King Von dies at 26. The Fulton County Medical Examiner performs the autopsy the same day.

7 November 2020

Timothy Leeks is arrested at Grady Hospital and charged with felony murder.

9 November 2020

Fulton County publishes the medical examiner press report: gunshot wounds of the torso and thighs, homicide, case 2020-2344.

10 November 2020

Fulton County addresses the circulating photographs and concludes they were taken after the body left its custody.

14 November 2020

Funeral services held in the Chicago area. Kayla B. publicly accuses a mortuary employee of the leak.

March 2021

Leeks granted a $100,000 bond on appeal to the Superior Court.

20 August 2023

Leeks’s attorney confirms the case was dismissed before indictment. No reason is published.

17 October 2024

Lil Durk arrested in Florida on federal murder-for-hire charges tied to alleged retaliation for King Von’s death.

20 August 2026

Lil Durk’s federal trial opens in Los Angeles.

4 September 2026

Both sides rest. Closing arguments follow.

8–9 September 2026

Jury deliberations scheduled to begin.

FAQs About King Von Autopsy

Mark Blakely from Chicago died alongside King Von (Dayvon Bennett). He was 34 years old and also killed in the November 6, 2020 shooting outside the Monaco Hookah Lounge, according to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation.

King Von was affiliated with the Black Disciples, a Chicago street gang tied to the O’Block section of Parkway Gardens where he grew up. This affiliation is widely documented in music press coverage and features heavily in his own lyrics, which drew directly on his life in the neighborhood before his rap career.

King Von was 26 years old when he died. His age is recorded in both the Fulton County Medical Examiner report and the GBI’s incident update.

The Dayvon Daquan Bennett autopsy revelaed that King Von died of gunshot wounds to the torso and thighs and that the manner of death was homicide. The published report does not include a shot count, trajectories, organ findings, or toxicology results.

King Von’s full legal name was Dayvon Daquan Bennett. “King Von” was his stage name. Fans and press also refer to him simply as Von.

Timothy Leeks, known as Lul Tim, was arrested and charged with felony murder. The charge was dismissed in August 2023 before indictment. No one has been convicted.

No head wound appears in the published record, which names the torso and thighs.

King Von’s official cause of death was gunshot wounds to the torso and thighs, sustained during a shooting outside the Monaco Hookah Lounge in Atlanta on 6 November 2020

He passed away on November 6, 2020, at the age of 26.

King Von was laid to rest on November 14, 2020, at Burr Oak Cemetery in Alsip, Illinois.

Yes. Lul Tim (also spelled Lul Timm) is the stage name of Timothy Leeks, the man originally charged with murder in King Von’s death. Fulton County prosecutors dropped that charge in August 2023 under Georgia’s stand-your-ground law.

King Von was born on 9 August 1994 and would have turned 32 in August 2026

The shooting occurred in the parking area near the Monaco Hookah Lounge at 255 Trinity Avenue in Atlanta, Georgia.

About Author

Written and researched by: Pavel Klimakov